Teacher Soundtrack

The indomitable @johnhardison1 tweeted about his teacher soundtrack blog post found here and challenged me to create my list… So I’ve been thinking about it and this is what I have so far…

  1. One Way or Another by Blondie – the first two verses but these lines… “One day maybe next week, I’m gonna meet ya’/ One way or another, I’m gonna win ya’/ I’ll get ya’, I’ll get ya'” This is exactly how I feel about that kid who resists all efforts to engage them but they are watching… and one day… if you’re lucky enough, they come up in a grocery store and say Miz, you taught me so much (I’m looking at you Juan).
  2. She’s Every Woman by Garth Brooks – “she’s fire and ice /A little crazy but it’s nice” I can’t even begin to count how many students I’ve told, “Yep, I’m crazy.” They don’t even know how to respond most days. If I can keep them guessing, then they are at least watching what I’ll do next.
  3. T.N.T by AC/DC – “Don’t you start no fight//’Cause I’m T.N.T. I’m dynamite/T.N.T. and I’ll win the fight/T.N.T. I’m a power load/T.N.T. watch me explode” This goes with number two but it’s one on the drive-to-work playlist that gives me that bounce to my step and the mindset to make it great day.
  4. It’s My Life by Bon Jovi – “All lyrics” I am in control of my choices and while I’m here I want to live. Encouraging students to do the same isn’t usually difficult but it seems there are always a few that need to be reminded to live. I want to quote Invictus.
  5. The Lost Boy by Greg Holden – “I know there’s greed and there’s corruption/I’ve seen death and mass destruction/But I’m telling you, and I hope that I’m heard//And I will not be commanded/And I will not be controlled/And I will not let my future go on/Without the help of my soul” I put the link for a YouTube video on that one just because the song grabs my guts. I’ve taught many “lost boys” over the years who had very little hope of a “normal” life, whatever that means… It serves to remind me that my students don’t always have more than they brought with them to school that day.
  6. Little Dive Bar in Dahlonega by Ashley McBryde – “Nothings goin right/Makin the best of the worst day kinda night” I didn’t add this one just because it has Dahlonega in the title… even though that is totally why I listened to the song the first time (I grew up in Dahlonega, GA, back when there was one red-light). Ashley’s voice is one of my favorites right now, but I think the message of moving on from the worst day will resonate for a while. As teachers, we’ve all had that worst day… the ones you analyze for years and hopefully learn something so you don’t repeat them.
  7. 17 by Cody Canda – “You’re always seventeen in your hometown.//Runnin’ from your folks, runnin’ from the law./Runnin’ from love; runnin’ from your fears; runnin’ from it all./You keep on runnin’ boy, you’ll run yourself in the ground./You’re always seventeen in your hometown.” I had to have a Cody Canada song. His music has gotten me through many a long road trip. This one is a reminder that my students are 17 in their hometown and while leaving is coming soon, they are still in that sunrise of adulthood.

I’m sure I could come up with a few more… This is what I have at the moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

